Thursday, 18 November 2010


The Gates show with Kayo Dot last week went well I thought. I had a really good night. We didn't have much time to prepare but it all worked out. We only played two of three of the pieces we played the first time around, 'Outer Labyrinth' & 'Inner Labyrinth', in order to keep our set down to 25min due to the time restriction imposed. I was more interested in experiencing Kayo Dot that night than actually playing too much so it was fine in the end. If you were there at the Kayo Dot show and if you missed our first show a month or so ago (which you probably did because there was only about 10 people there) and want to hear the whole deal, all three pieces from 'Moths Have Eaten the Core', come to this show on the 26th. We'll be playing both songs listed above plus 'Dust of Absence' and we'll have some lovely CD's you may purchase featuring all said pieces of music, albeit in slightly (or extremely, depending on your perspecitive(s)) different forms than what you'll hear live.

We'll also have a ton of prints available of all the posters from the last 2 shows along with the one you see above. All designed by the mighty Robotto aka Scott Sokoloski. Scott has been gracious enough to design and print the posters for all the Gates shows thus far and he's done an incredible job. I picked up the prints for the poster above today and it looks beautifully grimm. Also pretty excited I get to post this one at a much larger scale here on Astral Ra without going outside of the blogger template borders. Robo knows his aspect ratios and scale measurements like no one else! Looks sick Dog!

So come out to The 460 (460 Spadina) November 26th to see the new WOMEN IN TRAGEDY, reinvigorated as a 4-piece band and from what I hear moving more towards a nosier post-hardcore type of vibe. Most of all come to experience the abstract black metal of THANTIFAXATH, who I'm most looking forward to. Their music is fantastic and they maintain a veil of secrecy that's quite alluring. Show will be $5 and start sometime after 9pm.

more info/sounds/etc at the following links below and within above,

Monday, 8 November 2010


This one came up completely last minute. Opening the night for a show with KAYO DOT and KOSMOGRAD. EARLY show. Doors at 8pm, Gates at 8:20, set times to follow accordingly.

Wednesday November 10th
Sneaky Dee's
431 College St
over by 11

poster by the mighty ROBOTTO

Tuesday, 2 November 2010


Great compilation put together by Superheavy Sounds, which features an edit of ORCA's 'Collapse' along with a ton of other Canadian based bands playing in various veins of 'heavy' music; metal, hardcore, punk, noise, rock etc. Great artwork and packaging by Scott Sokoloski over at Firebrand. You can also download this for free, link on the right---->

Superheavy Sounds is a great radio show hosted by Mike Simpson on CIUT 89.5 in Toronto. Check it out every Tuesday night 12-2AM
more info here SHS COMP

01 KEN Mode - Extending Common Courtesy Throughout The Evening
02 The Love & Terror Cult - []
03 The Great Sabatini - Birth Of The Cruel
04 Vilipend - Plauge Bearer
05 Syntaqst Error - Teenage Thrash
06 Eyeswithoutaface - Clean Blade (Fist Police)
07 Kosmograd - The Owl
08 Kraken - Guerrier
09 Godstopper - Father
10 Authors - Mirrors
11 Titan - The Glory of the Fleet
12 Expectorated Sequence - I am the Best Person Ever
13 Orca - Collapse [Movement III]